More Lessons: Looking on the Positive Side of Things

After my surgery, I chose to start looking at this whole injury-surgery-convalescence-recovery thing in a positive light. After all, what is to be gained by being angry?

It’s REALLY easy to get pissed and stay pissed at the guy and the outfit that did this to me, but what does that buy me, really? I could descend into the toxic depths of that emotion, but it gets me nowhere but just mad. I focus on myself, and miss all the great things around me. When I stay positive, I’ll heal faster, nerves will respond sooner, and I’ll be back at full capability much more quickly.

Want proof? Two days ago, when I saw my doc, he was very encouraged at the degree of my progress, and hadn’t been expecting such improvement.

Look, I could be just totally ticked-off at the outfit where I was injured, but I choose to focus my attention on God instead of on this current problem, and the stuff that caused it.

In case you think I’m some kind of a relative to Paul, here’s how weak I am: I have to constantly remind myself – through this conversation and through others – that I am looking on the positive side. It’s a struggle. And when I find myself in that space, I just remind myself that I am looking to God instead of to this.

It strikes me that some people actually seem to enjoy being angry. They run around, all pissed-off about something or other, never letting go of the negative feelings. Give ’em a chance; they can find something everyday to be pissed about. If you get in  their way, you get the product of their vitriol.

These people self-centeredly focus on their injury instead of on the healing. The self-centeredness feels so good, they want to stay there. But true healing comes from one place, and you have to ask for it. God freely gives healing,  although often it’s not in the form you expected. But he knows best. The hardest part sometimes is to trust that he does. But that’s a subject for another entry.

I just gotta imagine that Satan loves anger. It’s one of the self-feeding emotions that are at the same time destructive to others and yourself.

Prefer to stay pissed-off? Let me know how that works for you.

Tell me how many relationships you heal as a result: There’s a comment box here, and you can list all the people you’ve helped by choosing to stay pissed.

On the other hand, don’t think that a SMALL dose of cynicism is unhealthy; it’s what helps us live sanely through some situations. But the descent into anger, and choosing to remain there, is what’s destructive. If you don’t know the difference, seek help elsewhere. I’m not a doc, and I readily admit I’m not wise enough to cure you.

Cynicism can be entertaining, but some people are too entertained by it and therefore think it’s a lifestyle to emulate. Problem is, by being cynical, you tend to focus on everything negative around you instead of all the great things that there are to be enjoyed every day.

Here’s a great quote to close with, from Alexander Graham Bell:

When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened.

Leave a Reply

