This One May be Hard for Some of You to Read

For a long time, I have been looking for, and listening for, God’s wisdom when talking to my more conservative friends about gay people. And I have been remaining silent while seeking this wisdom. When pressed, I had to say, “I do not yet have the wisdom to talk about this.” Meanwhile, I have heard otherwise well-meaning people say things like, “Well, a gay person came into the store where my son works, and my son just hung his head and served them anyway.’ And these same people go on to say dismissive things like “Well, it’s just wrong and it’s in the Bible that these people are consigned to Hell.’

I am not swayed by these arguments, but instead what I hear is these people’s great discomfort and their fear that somehow their morals and even their personal salvation are in danger. I have been seeking a deeper wisdom – God’s wisdom – rather than that of man.

I believe that today I finally have it.

So now I must ask, “Are you really better than they are?”

Come on now, are you?

I want you to think for a few moments about those dark days before you were saved. Go back into that place of stinking darkness and lack of knowledge about the Grace of God where you thought you knew it all. Think about the things you followed; the things you did. Think about the things that you worshiped with your money, your thoughts, and your time. Think about the now in the light of your salvation, and the then… take a few moments and think about the ever-seductive darkness of the Then.

Let’s go over the hard questions again:

Are you really better than they are? Are you really better than any gay person? And if you still happen to think so, what gives you the right to judge that? Remember, to be able to judge, you must be a superior being to that which is being judged. Ask yourself honestly: Are you morally better than they are? Are you spiritually better than they are? Are you consigned to Hell now? And can you really say with God’s view of it that you are better?

And now it’s time to ask yourself the more difficult question: why should they be? Bad as you know you yourself to be when compared to the blinding light of God’s holiness, isn’t God able to redeem and use your gifts? So tell me: can He not likewise redeem and use the gifts of gay people?

Are they not his children also?

In light of this, one more time: Isn’t God big enough to redeem gay people and to use their talents and gifts for his good?
Think about that one for a while. Write back, if you wish; there’s a comment box. I ask only that you phrase your comments in the light of asking yourself if you are really better than any other person – no matter their sexual preference, color, or ethnic background.

Something to consider in the meantime from Romans 5:8:

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

I don’t see any exclusions in there, do you?

Also remember, Jesus told us in John 13:34:

A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.

I’ll stop here and let you think. I know in my own heart that I had to think about this for a long while after God laid it on me; it was that profound.

Leave a Reply

