Prayers, #1

This is the first in what likely will be more than one post on prayers.

I have been inspired by a book given to me by my great nephew and great niece:
No Atheists in Foxholes, by Chaplain Patrick McLaughlin, CDR, USN.

This is my prayer while I’m driving to work (well, one of them, anyway):

Lord,
Thank you for this beautiful day. Rain or shine, they are all beautiful in their own way. Thank you for this amazing place in which we live, and for this challenging job you have given me. May I remember that you are walking with me, and to be salt (of the earth) and light (of Christ) today, and to honor you in what I do.

Thank you for the gifts you have given me in the skills that I have, those that are known and unknown to me. May the use of those skills bring glory to your Name.

Jesus, continue to sharpen me like a tool that is made of good, old steel: Sharpen my eyes, sharpen my ears, sharpen my perceptions, and sharpen my mind. Give me eyes to see, ears to hear, a mind to understand, and the hands to do well at work. Let my work be good, honest, truthful, suited perfectly to the task, and long-lasting; and above all, to be presentable to you.

I have prayed to you many times about my hands, and I accept once again your Word that ‘Often the old tools are the best tools.’ Let them not restrain in any way the words you wish me to write, and the work you wish me to do today.

Lord, here I am, your servant.

I joyfully give you my day.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

