A Quieter House

The house has been much quieter these last few days. It’s missing a certain noise and excitement that it once had. The loss of Prince is palpable.

I find Pepper lying in places where he’s never lain before. As of right now, he’s lying at the end of the hallway, right at the step wall, so that he can see my wife, and also so that he’s sure that I’ll trip over him when I head from the office to the living room.

Tonight, I was outside reading, and I looked up to find Pepper lying in places close to where Prince would often lay. He hasn’t ventured to the concrete patio; I would imagine that surface is just a bit too hard.

The sadness comes in waves; one minute I’ll be fine, and the next, I’ll be close to tears. But I remember that quote:

Revelation 21:4 (NIV)

He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.

And I know that God has something marvelous in mind. So I choose to look to God, and not to this.

With that in mind, it’s time to start opening doors and see what God sends us: We’ve been contacting rescue groups, including Second Chance Companions, to see about possible candiate dogs. (If you’re ever considering adopting any animal, check with them first. They are the last refuge for dogs that would otherwise be going to a shelter.)

One outfit that is amazingly overjoyed to hear from us is the local Greyhound Rescue organization. They seem to think we’d be a good candidate.

Well, okay, God, you’re here, you’re sovereign, you know what is best, and we wait to see what you have in store for us. Glorify your name.

And we wait for you to heal our hearts.

Leave a Reply

