Devotions for Psalms 63:1-5

Here is the set of devotions I wrote for Psalms 63. This was by far the hardest of the two, because nothing seemed to ‘flow’ right away. And this was for a reason, I think. I needed to ‘turn off’ all the external stuff and listen closer to what God was saying. I hope it brings you some blessing in some way.

1 You, God, are my God,
earnestly I seek you;
I thirst for you,
my whole being longs for you,
in a dry and parched land
where there is no water.

David wrote this Psalm when he was in the desert of Judah. In today’s verse, you can see he must have been feeling far from God, because here he is comparing his feelings to his surroundings.

It’s easy to let our surroundings get us down, especially so when you live in a place that can have gray skies and rain for weeks on end! In David’s time, Jerusalem was the only place you could go to worship and enjoy the Presence of the Lord. God’s personal appearances outside of that location were pretty rare.

This entire Psalm resonates with Hebrews 4. But as Hebrews 4 reminds us: “14 We have a great high priest who has ascended into heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess… 16 Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

When life brings you to your knees, stay there just a few moments more, and look to God.

Lord, help me to look to you now, in my time of need and despair. Let me never forget that You are God, and greater than all things and situations. Strengthen me! 

Leave a Reply

