Devotions for Psalms 63:1-5, #5

This is the last one of both sets of devotions. I hope that they in some way bring some light to you. They were enlightening to write; in every sense of the word: with ‘light’ at its root.

5 I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods;
with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

David’s still stuck in the desert, running from his enemies. Yet he has taken time to stop, pray, and to praise God.

Here he’s looking forward to what we all look forward to at the end of a hard struggle: a nice dinner!! David has no idea when it will come, only that it will. He knows that God has his own timing, and he’s patiently waiting for it.

But at the same time, he’s giving God the credit for whatever deliverance will happen (and when!). There are those times when we need to say – no matter how hard it is, “Lord, thank you for this. I don’t know what’s going to happen, but you do, so I put my faith in you and your timing.”

Lord, no matter how rough the journey, I choose now to stop and praise you for it. Let your deliverance come and my praise to you be even fuller as a result.

Leave a Reply

