Sometimes it’s not the big picture

In the mornings I usually sit on the living room’s upper step to put on my shoes and to say a prayer for the day. It’s humbling to look out the windows and remember that I am here by God’s grace, and to take time to joyfully give him my day.

This morning, the view was (as it often is this time of year) obscured by a low cloud. But it came with a reminder to me to look beyond the big picture, to the small things.

The view out the windows ... and what's that lump on the couch...?

.

.

For there, on the couch, slept a Big Yellow Dog… and underneath his head, his favorite new toy.

I love my new home ... and my new toy...

.

.

.

My wife had gotten that ‘octopus’ for him yesterday, and as usual, he just loved it to death. It had some kind of firm ball inside the head; that’s now elsewhere on the floor. But the rest of it still remains pretty much intact.

.

.

.

.

.

Forgive the camera-shake; it’s very low light that time of day and I didn’t dare shoot a flash which would have woken him up. (It was just so cute to see him sleeping with his new favorite toy.)

.

He’s home. At his forever-home. Our forever-dog, Wheaton.

.

Remember to look around you, today.

.

One thought on “Sometimes it’s not the big picture

  1. Wheaton is so precious and blessed to be at such a good home! He sure looks peaceful and content, I think he not only loves his new toy but also his home.
    Thank you for the reminder to look at the small things, don’t great gifts come in small packages? :). Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

