Time again for New Years’ Resolutions

This year (for once) I shall try to apply some wisdom to these things instead of just saying something like, “I’ll be able to lift 600 pounds by summer and will be running the entire distance to and from work every day at 40 miles per hour.” Instead, it’s time to look at the journey of Life.

Some have said, “It’s not the journey, but the destination.”

Others have said, “It’s not the destination, but the journey.”

I assert that “It is both the destination AND the journey.”

More and more I have come to believe that it’s what we do with our walk through life that matters; and how we handle now what we have done in the past. I know that I try to walk with God on this journey, and in doing so, I continually have my eyes and heart opened to things which I would merely have passed by. Yet I also believe that God is there to walk with me, and to guide me; if only I have the brains to ask. In the Old Testament, the prophets and wise men perpetually say, “First seek the counsel of the Lord.”

Well, that’s my resolution for this year: To first seek the counsel of the Lord.

This year will bring its share of changes and challenges, and I had better get my priorities straight; and in this case, it’s ‘priorities’ as in a list. And first is ‘to seek the counsel of the Lord’. Okay, I’ve now said it three times, just like in the Bible when God REALLY wants to make a point.

Let’s leave with a great quote from Psalms 143:8:

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love,
for I have put my trust in you.
Show me the way I should go,
for to you I entrust my life.

Leave a Reply

