How to crack an egg: The Food Network has it all wrong

The fine, experienced, knowledgeable folks at The Food Network have you cracking eggs on the counter, and I can NEVER do that right. I always end up with a mess. Always. Puddle of egg on the counter, egg trail to where the bowl or pan is. Great. Yuck.

Meanwhile, they maintain that cracking an egg on the edge of a bowl will drive shards of shell into the interior of the egg. Well…Not claiming they’re all wrong, but maybe they need a rethink. Doesn’t the membrane of the egg hold that in place? Let me quote Imagination Station:

The outer membrane sticks to the egg shell while the inner membrane sticks to the albumen (emphasis mine). When an egg is first laid, it is warm. As it cools, the contents contract and the inner shell membrane separates from the outer shell membrane to form the air cell.

While I’ve never, ever had “pieces of shell come off inside and puncture the yolk” of an egg I’ve cracked on the sharp edge of a vessel,  I STILL get it wrong, and make a mess on the side of the bowl or measuring cup, egg running down the outside and making an ugly puddle on the counter. Great again. Yuck again.

So I figured there has to be a better way. And there is.

Crack the egg JUST INSIDE the rim of the bowl or the pan, on the top of the flat spot right there below the rim. Even if the shell splits wide open on you, the egg goes where it’s supposed to go, and you have NO mess. Ever. I’ve been doing this for years, and it works. Hey, I still mess up and get a chunk of shell in the cracked egg on the rare occasion, but NO MORE messes!

Here’s a snapshot that shows how:

This pan has a rolled lip, so I’m cracking the egg on the flat spot just below that.

 

Give this a try. I bet you’ll find it works GREAT.

 

So, okay, folks at Food Network: you can thank me now. PM me and I’ll tell you where to send the check!

 

2 thoughts on “How to crack an egg: The Food Network has it all wrong

Leave a Reply

