Friday Fun

Years ago, a certain Commanding Officer often had to send his strike teams out under radio silence. The teams would leave on sortie, and return to find the officer looking like he’d just come from the cleaners.

There was a bit of grumbling about this, and the officer finally heard about it.

During the next team briefing, he addressed the situation:

“Men, I know you think I’m just sitting here on my *** while you’re out there getting yours shot at. Nothing can be further from the truth. The thing is, I worry about you from the moment you leave until the moment you return, and I can’t be there to help in any way. This really works on me, so I had to find something to do while you guys are out there, in harm’s way.”

The men exchanged surprised looks. No one had even given much thought to the idea that the Old Man was personally worried about them.

The CO continued, “So I tried everything. Running, exercising – they got ruled out by MY superior officer because I wasn’t immediately available. So I had to find something I could do while sticking close to Ops.”

The men shifted a bit in their seats. What great secret was the CO about to reveal?

“So I hit on the idea of finishing up my laundry. It was something I could do while at the office, because I was too nervous to be any use doing paperwork. So if you look in my corner closet, you’ll find an ironing board and an iron.

“Yes, guys, I iron while the strike is hot.” His secret finally revealed, the CO quietly folded his hands in front of him. A moment later, the briefing room was filled with applause.

Leave a Reply

