Coming things: Fall and Rain

In tonight’s chill, I feel the presence of Fall.

image

Tonight we have a monochrome sunset;
a harbinger of rain to come.
And we so desperately need the rain.

Thank you Lord, for bringing the change of the seasons.

Beneath this monochromatic sky
my Golden Retriever is fascinated,
in tense stillness watching
the bunnies in the bushes.

And a familiar raptor has returned:
the day’s light fades
and the Great Horned Owls
are hooting to each other
as they fly silently
from observation point
to observation point;
their calls moving about in the growing dark.

Thank you Lord, for bringing the change of the seasons.

My Golden buddy comes and lies down quietly
next to me;
disturbed by the owl’s calls.
A hand on his head and he relaxes a bit –
– for the moment.

I turn back to my reading,
at last comfortable in the slight chill
and the light breeze
clattering the dry leaves on the trees.

For the first time since May
I’m not managing
the constant drip of sweat
from my brow.
Yes, an end to the drought
will be most, most, welcome.

Thank you Lord, for bringing the change of the seasons.

But soon the owls
begin to bother my Golden buddy;
his inability to see where the sound originates
and why it moves from place to place
is spooking him
and he grows increasingly nervous.

So I pack up and we head in,
with me wishing the owls
good hunting, lads,
glad to have you back.

Thank you Lord, for bringing the change of the seasons.

Leave a Reply

