A new owl’s call – can you help me identify it?

Sitting outside the last few nights through sunset and listening to the sounds of the forest, I’ve heard a new and very, very different owl’s call.

I’ve looked and listened through a lot of sound clips, but can’t identify it. Remember how I often say, “Let others help”? Well, maybe you can help me out.

I haven’t been able to capture the call, so I can only describe it: it goes, “hoo-hoo-hoo-hoooooooooaaaaaaaaah”

The call has a rising note through the hoots. then a falling note in the “…oooaaaaaaaaaaah” portion of the call.

Any guesses?

I’ll report back once you help me find a matching sound clip.

Found it!

It’s a spotted owl! 

Identification was helped by my wife: Yesterday, it was swooping down on a sparrow perched on the peak of the house, it missed, and slammed into the window beneath. My wife got a good look at it and gave me enough of a description that I could then identify it. She said it made one heck of a BANG!

Leave a Reply

