Herdens Paj (Swedish Shepherd’s Pie) – a Photo Post

I have been craving Swedish Meatballs for some time, and any traditional preparation always comes out kind of heavy and complicated to do. So I got to thinking about something like a Shepherd’s Pie that would be easy enough for me, but still something that my very Swedish wife might enjoy.

This turned out really well, and it’s pretty simple to fix. Here’s how it went:

Ingredients list

  • Bag of frozen Swedish Meatballs (thought I’d try the turkey ones, just so I can call this “a lighter recipe”)
  • Box of frozen peas
  • Box of Instant Mashed Potatoes (I like the Ore-Ida brand best)
  • Two packets of “Better than Gravy” Turkey gravy mix
  • Butter and milk from the fridge (for the Instant Mashed Potatoes)

Prepare

Oil a 9×13 pan. Dump in the meatballs, break up and dump in the peas. It doesn’t have to be perfect, just spread-around well. Here’s a photo, to show you what I mean. The lumps there  are icy lumps of peas. Doesn’t matter; the extra moisture seems to be welcome.

Make the gravy according to package directions, then pour that over the top. Again, you don’t have to be perfect. Aim mostly for the middle, because it’ll spread itself around. Here’s what I mean:

Make 8 portions of the Instant Mashed Potatoes, but add an extra half cup so they’re a bit more dry. Spread this over the top of everything.

Cover with foil and bake, 45 minutes at 350 °

And that’s it – really!

It gets the thumbs-up from my very Swedish wife, so it’s worthy of sharing.

Hope you can give it a try and it works out for you as well as it did for me.

 

Leave a Reply

