A savory take on Oatmeal

This got started a few Saturdays ago; we really wanted bacon, a fried egg, and toast. But I’d forgotten to get bread.

I’m always looking for ways to make a breakfast that my wife can enjoy, because she has to watch her sodium intake very closely; and this idea really works. (Not all do.) I’d managed to find low-sodium bacon, so we were good there. But what to use for toast? I couldn’t make biscuits, because the baking soda and baking powder in the cabinet were astronomically high in sodium. We’ve since found substitutes.

But meanwhile, my warped mind came up with an idea, and it worked well enough (she said it was really good) that I’ve made it again.

And here’s how. The best thing about it is that it’s simple, and just a matter of assembly; you likely have everything on hand.

Once the bacon’s ready to come out, start the oatmeal:

Pull the bacon for draining, and right before the oatmeal’s done, start the eggs. I’d like to say that I’m really skilled and did poached eggs, but doing poached eggs takes a LONG time – just in waiting for the water to be ready. I figure over-easy is almost as good, if not as pretty.

Divide the oatmeal, then make a well in  the top for a pat of butter. Unsalted for my wife.

Eggs on top (two for me) and serve…

 

The runny yolk along with the butter make for an unctuous taste.

 

It’s turned out well every time, so far. I hope you can give it a try and enjoy it. It’s so much better than just plan oatmeal, for when you have a lot of stuff to get done. You won’t need to stop for lunch.

Leave a Reply

